Woke up early and started shopping for guns

I am really grumpy when I don’t get enough sleep. Everyone looks at me a little sideways around here wondering what random thing I’m going to make a big deal about. Uh-oh, Mom didn’t sleep well…don’t complain about the cold lumpy oatmeal or the over-salted eggs with shells in them. Just smile and be glad there is camp today.

It is true. I have to say that having kids at a later age has taught me why we are biologically supposed to have kids at a younger, much younger, age. It’s the freaking sleep. When I was in my twenties, I would stay up til 4am, regularly. I’d get up throughout the night, answer crisis calls (often involving guns), and then go back to sleep. In the morning, I’d go about my day as a Violence Prevention Counselor as if nothing had happened. Now, I’m up early and I’m the one shopping for guns.

Well, to be fair, they are just Nerf Guns.

We are throwing our kid a Nerf Gun party in a few weeks and I’m looking for the right weapons for our 7-year old and his friends.  Because we are a family who believes in fairness, equity, non-violence and peace, we will make sure each child is armed with the same 20-dart, rotating-barrel automatic Nerf machine-gun. Then we will set those little maniacs loose, with their guns, cheap sunglasses, and homemade vests, to open fire on each other, and, of course, us. It will be a blast.

And in the end, I just feel like such a proud Mama when I get to boast, “I’m throwing the perfect GUN party for my kid! His father and I couldn’t be happier that he’s taken to firearms!”

We start them young with hand guns: http://youtu.be/59LVcwR-bQs

4 responses to “Woke up early and started shopping for guns

  1. Love the idea of Nerf guns and I’m sure this comment must have unhinged a few folks: “I’m throwing the perfect GUN party for my kid! His father and I couldn’t be happier that he’s taken to firearms!” Very funny.

Leave a comment